Facebook Twitter Pinterest YouTube RSS
Click here to view larger image

Image not actual size
New Frontier 3” Bronze Medal (920)

Price: $39.95
Add to Wish List
Add to Cart

This medal is a bronze duplicate of the New Frontier Congressional Gold Medal awarded to astronauts John Herschel Glenn Jr., Neil A. Armstrong, Edwin E. “Buzz” Aldrin Jr. and Michael Collins at a ceremony in the U.S. Capitol Building on November 16, 2011, in recognition of their significant contributions to society. The medal measures three inches in diameter and is the same diameter and thickness as the gold medal.

The obverse (heads side) depicts the portraits of Apollo 11 astronauts Neil A. Armstrong, Michael Collins, and Edwin E. “Buzz” Aldrin Jr. facing left and Friendship 7 astronaut John Herschel Glenn Jr. facing right, representing the two historic missions. The design also features a partial view of the Earth from orbit, as well as a horizon line with an astronaut walking on the lunar surface facing the flag. The names of all four astronauts – JOHN GLENN, NEIL ARMSTRONG, MICHAEL COLLINS, and BUZZ ALDRIN – are inscribed along the outer rim.

The reverse (tails) features the Lunar Excursion Module orbiting the moon and the Friendship 7 mission capsule orbiting the Earth with the inscription WE CAME IN PEACE FOR ALL MANKIND.

Specification NameSpecification Value
Design:Obverse  –  Joel Iskowitz
Obverse sculpted by Phebe Hemphill
Reverse  –  Joel Iskowitz
Reverse sculpted by Don Everhart
Struck Under Authority of:Public Law 111-44
Place Minted:Philadelphia (no mint mark)

Program Information: Click to Expand

The New Frontier Congressional Gold Medal was given in honor of the significant achievements to society of these astronauts, including:

  • John Glenn helped pave the way for the first lunar landing when he became the first American to orbit the Earth on February 20, 1962.
  • Neil Armstrong, as mission commander for Apollo 11, gained the distinction of being the first astronaut to land a craft on the moon and to step on its surface on July 21, 1969.
  • Buzz Aldrin joined Neil Armstrong in piloting the lunar module, Eagle, and became the second person to walk on the lunar surface.
  • Michael Collins piloted the command module, Columbia, in lunar orbit and helped his fellow Apollo 11 astronauts complete their mission on the moon.
The actions of all four astronauts continue to greatly inspire the people of the United States.

Shipping Information: Click to Expand

Please allow one to two (1-2) weeks for shipping.

Purchasing Information: Click to Expand

To ensure that all members of the public have fair and equal access to United States Mint products, any order placed prior to the official on-sale date and time of November 16, 2011, 12:00 Noon (ET) shall not be deemed accepted by the United States Mint and will not be honored.

If paying by credit card, please be sure your credit card information remains current to avoid any delays in processing your order. If your credit card has expired by the time of shipment, your order will be cancelled. To update credit card information after an order has been placed, you must call 1-800-USA-MINT (872-6468).

50th Anniversary of the KENNEDY HALF-DOLLAR